Zero drop (heel to toe) badminton shoes.

Discussion in 'Clothing & Footwear' started by shivoli, Jul 24, 2016.

1. shivoli

shivoli New Member

Teacher
    I've been playing casually for many years using feiyue wushu shoes however now wanting to take my game a little more seriously find they suffer a bit from lateral stability (foot can slip on the insole when rapidly changing direction due to the upper being cloth and not securing the foot properly) as well as not being officially allowed. Otherwise they are great - mobility has never been a problem, neither has cushioning.

I cannot wear any shoe that has a heel higher than the ball of the foot for any purpose - casual, work or otherwise, because it negatively affects my balance/stability and posture, which in turn negatively affects my ability to move in the correct way rooting in the feet and executing techniques efficiently.

So I'm really struggling trying to find a badminton shoe that has a flat insole (I don't mind minor arch support if it is unavoidable, only zero heel to toe differential), especially given it isn't straightforward to find a retail store where you can go and try on many - unless anyone knows a good place in London. I can accept a ~1mm rise at the heel if unavoidable.

Does anyone have any recommendations of any shoes that match this criteria? :)

2. dolbydog

dolbydog Regular Member

You can try directsports or central sports. Your shoes are like 70's or 80's Asics shoes, the original TVR. Similar designs by Nike, Puma, World Cup, Mizuno, etc. Used by many athletes in many indoor disciplines for over 10 years. Maybe, try a Squash brand (Hi-Tec?) They tend to be flatter, but sometimes heavier and less flexible. It's not going to be easy to find a suitable replacement and similarly, I have arch pains if they are too high from years of using those original indoor shoes.

3. shivoli

shivoli New Member

Teacher