Too much for beginners?

Discussion in 'General Forum' started by Magwitch, Apr 28, 2022.

1. Magwitch

Magwitch Regular Member

I signed up for group coaching at a badminton academy the year I started playing. I didn't know I had chronic fatigue yet and I bailed well before the end of the term. The class was said to be for beginners. It was a two hour weekly session. There wasn't any real break from playing. It wasn't rare that you would play a game of singles. Most sessions they would have fitness work either at the start/end of the session, and often would have it at the start and end of the session. The fitness work was pretty tough. Things like shuttles, more than one extended wall sit, planks, burpies I think. I think the first time they spoke of fitness work at the end of the session I thought something like "Fitness work? Isn't playing for two hours including singles already fitness work?"

Obviously my recovery isn't that of the average person. Almost all of the participants were kids, who should recover quite well. But surely there are plenty of beginners without chronic fatigue who this is too much for? They spoke about practicing things learned during the week. If I ever played during the week (I think I did once) I'm sure I paid for it. Does this sound tough for a beginners class?

2. BadmintonDave

BadmintonDave Regular Member

I don't know about chronic fatigue, but it is a good idea to have exercise or fitness elements at the start and end of coaching sessions.

Start with a warm up, when the group is warmed up give them a small rest while you explain a shot / tactic or whatever the days learning objectives are. Show with a demo etc, then have the group do the learning with coach or coaches feedback and input.

Some warmups i've seen are as follows;