Shuttlecock Humidity

Discussion in 'Shuttlecock' started by SaxoProf, Sep 3, 2023.

1. SaxoProf

SaxoProf Regular Member

Professor
    I’m relatively new to Badminton, but I started playing this past summer in Japan where the RH is quite high, and inside the gyms is basically a low key steam room (half joking). When I came back to the US (Los Angeles area), it seems the shuttlecocks don’t last as long. Instead of using Yonex F-80 New Official, or one step down, while occasionally AS-30 is used here, often other random brands are used, and even I’ll use Victor Specials I brought or much cheaper shuttlecocks for warmups.

I have read that humidifying can help the durability of the shuttlecocks, and products exist, but have struggled to find articles or writing about what the optimal humidity level would be. I don’t mind buying something like a Humidome, but it seems to me if overall it’s better for longer term humidity to add resilience, something like a proper Humidty % Boveda Humidipak like I might use for saxophone reeds would be better or at least as good. It would prevent excess humidity and less than $1.50 per pack, you could put them in and when one can is done put that one into another and grab one that is pre humidified. Teachers could even put the big packs in their plastics container so even the worn ones perhaps a little bit longer.

Does anyone know the ideal RH? For my reeds I keep it at 69-72% depending on the season (and sometimes if one is on sale when I go to buy them)

thank you in advance.

2. Vellawolf

Vellawolf Regular Member