Roast my Clears

Discussion in 'Techniques / Training' started by Bigbag, Oct 19, 2021.

1. Bigbag

Bigbag Regular Member

Hi guys, need some help with overhead technique. I've been playing for about 4 years, received coaching for 2, however I've come to believe my previous coach wasn't that great as parts of my technique are woefully behind others. I've started with a new coach who has already started breaking some of my bad habits but some stuff gets lost in translation.

From the video I think my stroke begins well and ends ok but the middle is messy. I think the contact point looks too low and forearm doesn't extend out enough from the elbow, perhaps these things are interlinked? Beyond that I'm missing some body rotation maybe.

During this drill I kept telling myself to reach for a higher contact point... and I thought I was. But the video proves otherwise. Is there something I'm missing in the prep or my positioning?

2. kwun

kwun Administrator

BC Janitor
    Contact point low. arms not straight enough.

Also, video is easier to analyze if you shoot it from your right, directly from the side, instead of from left diagonally from the front court.

clear.png

Cheung likes this.
  3. Bigbag

Bigbag Regular Member

Thanks for taking the time to watch. I'm aware of this as I said in my post and was telling myself to reach higher, the arm did not want to though. Anything I can do to get the arm to listen?

4. Cheung

Cheung Moderator

wannabe badminton phototaker
    There's a difference to waiting for the shuttle to come to you and reaching upwards to the shuttle as it comes down.

Practice reaching up onto your tiptoes to meet the shuttle as it comes down just before hitting it. You might even have to hop up into the air a little.

Probably what you did when you were learning before was waiting until the shuttle comes into your hitting zone and then started to swing the racquet. In that short space of time, the shuttle has dropped even more.