Newbie here, need some help on first stringing machine purchase

Discussion in 'Badminton Stringing Techniques & Tools' started by Andy Ngo, Oct 26, 2021.

1. Andy Ngo

Andy Ngo New Member

Hi guys,

I am new to the badminton sport and stringing racquets have caught my attention. We have a badminton club at my college and hope to pick up this new skill to help my fellow mates in the club. I found this Gamma Progression II 602 machine locally and the seller is selling it for 300 USD. Everything in the pics is included with the purchase.

I was wondering if this would be a good purchase for a newbie and if I need anything extra to start stringing some badminton racquets.

Any tips/tricks would be awesome!

Attached Files:

2. Waltermark

Waltermark New Member

Gamma progression II is one of the best machine I can also recommend for starter. I’ve one I’m using and it’s awesome

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

3. s_mair

s_mair Regular Member

Be careful, this is the version without fixed clamps and the flying clamps that come with it appear to be tennis versions. Buying a set of Yonex flying clamps would be an easy and cheap fix there though. The Progression II with fixed clamps is a great machine, no doubt about that.

Personally, I wouldn't recommend spending 300 USD for a machine without fixed clamps. Especially if you are planning so start stringing for your club as well. But I guess it comes down to budget in the end.

ucantseeme likes this.
  4. Mark A

Mark A Regular Member

I'd go further and say that six points and fixed clamps are a minimum if you are going to be stringing for others.

Two-pointers with flying clamps are, IMO, for those stringing only their own rackets, at low tension.

ucantseeme likes this.
  5. s_mair

s_mair Regular Member