New here!

Discussion in 'Introduction' started by HelenaKTF, Jun 6, 2004.

1. HelenaKTF

HelenaKTF Regular Member

Nurse
    Am a 27 y o female with major knee problems but many year of pain and 2 major surgeries later still playing (my braces are my best mates:D ). Shows how much I like this game!

I play 4 hrs a week, except when I am working or off invalid:p ... So far all goes well!

Hope to meet some fellow players and make some friends! I play with Yonex (can't tell which one as my rackets are lying in the boot of my car:D ) and plastic shuttles. I have been playing for as long as I can remember, since 10 years we founded a club (recreation) and have now 60+ members (hasn't always been like this:p )!

My dream was to play as a pro, my knees prevented me from doing it... Not saying I ever would have been one:p

That's it for now, hope to meet some new fellow badminton friend here!

Gr33tings!

Helena

2. Winex West Can

Winex West Can Regular Member

Hi Tech
    Welcome to BF, Helena.

It's funny, isn't it that we could be so banged out but still come out to play the game. I know one fellow who had surgery on his elbow (racquet arm) and it had to be in a brace for a while. So, instead of resting, he learned how to play with his other arm :D :D :D

One of our BFer (Panhandle) did the same thing when he was injured. I have had many mornings after an intensive evening of badminton, not being able to walk properly (hobble around because of the soreness in the ankles) but by the evening was raring to go play badminton.

3. kwun

kwun Administrator

BC Janitor
    i have done similarly too.

once when i was in school, i feel down hard on a bike and landed on my wrist. my right wrist has no strength for nearly a week. it was so weak literally i could not hold a racket. well, badminton time came and i took my racket and started rallying with the beginners with my left hand. i sucked at it!