Light vs Heavy vs Balance point

Discussion in 'Badminton Rackets / Equipment' started by shararti81, Jun 13, 2016.

1. shararti81

shararti81 Regular Member

Dear All,

I wanted to know about the impact of racket weight. i.e.

for same string tension and flex and balance point, will a racket be more maneuverable/less powerfull if light weight compared to a heavy racket ?

#1 shararti81, Jun 13, 2016
    Last edited: Jun 13, 2016
  2. visor

visor Regular Member

Yes.

shararti81 and Techno like this.
  3. foo.tw

foo.tw Regular Member

what affets is the weight of head.
    that is to say, balance x total weight decides the performance.
    a head heavy 3u racket will have similar performance like an even balanced 2U racket.

shararti81 likes this.
  4. shararti81

Guys, I have been playing on and off recreationaly for more than 6 years ( never been coached), since last year taking a little seriously, i practice footwork and i can do basic shots reasonably. I use BS12L for doubles (bg80 23lb) and VT-7 (bg65 22lb) for singles, TIW5000(nbg98-22lb) is backup for both singles and doubles rackets.
    Now that i am a little better I started playing (or they have) with people who are far experienced (some even 20+ years) at my uni court. After causing a few upsets, they have changed their strategy and now apply strategy of locking me down at my backhand using attacking clears until I am worn out.
    I have to use many overhead punch clears and I found my VT7 a tad slow. I use now TIW5000 ( same flexibility but more even/headlight balance).
    The only way out I found is to either smash ( their returns are more flatter so recovery is easy) or cross court drop.
    I was thinking of getting a head heavier racket to add substance to my smashes and easier clears. But since i even find vt7 slow for smashes/drives ( i guess nothing is faster than bs12), a headheavier wont do any good to me.