Help with buying Ti-7 or MP77!

Discussion in 'Racket Recommendation / Comparison' started by GregorPI, Feb 18, 2002.

1. GregorPI

GregorPI Guest

I'm of for a new racquet. What I own now is an older (cca. 10 years) VICTOR advantage (100% graphite body). I find it a bit heavy. Last week I tried to play with a Yonex ISO 97VF Light (my girlfriend bought it) and boy it is light. The only problem I had is the lack of power (it's not head heavy). I had to hit harder but the control was cool. I could really direct the shuttle the way I never did before.

I'm not a pro player but still came to think that racquet does make a difference, so I decided to buy a new one. I'm looking at Ti-7 and MP77. I don't want extra stiff racquet (yet) so there's no need for MP100 or Ti-10.

What are the main differences between MP77 and Ti-7? Power, control, etc.

Suggestions?

Thanks,
    Gregor

2. Andrew

Andrew Guest

G'day Gregor,

You will find that Ti-7 a more manuverable racket than MP77 because it is less head heavy. Ti-7 has a larger sweet spot than MP77 and is a pleasant racket for all round use, especially for doubles. And it is easier to adapt to than MP77.

If you are a heavy hitter with strong wrist, you will probably find MP77 a better choice as its head heavy design aid in power shots. In terms of outright power, MP77 is superior, overhead clears, flat drives and smashes are faster and more powerful than Ti-7. Downside is it takes longer to get use to than most other rackets, due to its head heavy design, with very stiff shaft and longer racket length.

Both are great rackets and the final choice boils down to your style of play. I however recommend you try a MP55/77/100 range before you buy one as it is a harder racket to adapt to. It took me 4 month to get used to my MP77 after 2 years of using Carbonex 21.

Hope all this helps.

Cheers.

3. Byro-Nenium

Byro-Nenium Regular Member

Undergrad