bwf super series tournament structure

Discussion in 'Rules / Tournament Regulation / Officiating' started by badmintonstats, Jan 23, 2019.

1. badmintonstats

badmintonstats New Member

Hi, I'm doing a thesis on badminton statistics with regards to the bwf tournament from 2007-2017 and would greatly need some help as the information I have sourced from the internet is not sufficient.

From my understanding, each tournament has 32 players with 4 players from the qualifiers. I'm trying to simulate the badminton tournament and would need an accurate gauge of the players ranking

I know that there are 8 seeded players but what I want to ask is what are the rankings of the 28 players (4 players from qualifiers excluded). Are these players among around the top 30 in the world? or is it based on submission of entries from the players and then the top 28 from all the entries are selected.

I ask because in order to simulate, I need to know the ranking structure of players in the main draw. Thank you and would appreciate any help

2. samkool

samkool Regular Member

too pre-occupied to work
    not always.
    yes.

since rankings change weekly it will be difficult to know who was ranked, and what # they were ranked, on any given week dating back to 2007. the only likely source for a ranking archive dating back to 2007 is bwf.

badmintonstats likes this.
  3. badmintonstats

Hi samkool thanks for the reply. Would also like to ask how are the 16 players in the qualifier stage selected? And what does the term "Promoted From Qualifying" means? Thank you

4. samkool

samkool Regular Member

too pre-occupied to work
    also by ranking.
    it is a term used in the main draw: when a player from the main draw withdraws before the tournament starts the highest ranked player in the qualifying bracket is "Promoted From Qualifying"... when that happens it will say [PMD] in the qualifying bracket, meaning "Promoted to Main Draw."

5. badmintonstats