Yonex Astrox 77 - too slow?

Discussion in 'Racket Recommendation / Comparison' started by TonyCAN, Dec 24, 2020.

1. TonyCAN

TonyCAN New Member

Hi Everyone!

I'm new in the badminton world but I think I already have an intermediate level. I'm used to play for a very long time to different racquet sport like table tennis, tennis and I recently started playing seriously badminton and I love it a lot.

I just bought a Yonex Astrox 77 and the seller advice me Yonex SkyArc as string. I love the racquet, it's really lightweight but I have absolutely not enough power with it, I really want to have more power.

Do you think I need a more offensive racquet or the string I chose is pretty bad for an offensive playing style?
    I don't know if the string can do a big difference or not?

Thank you in advance for your help!
    Tony

2. speCulatius

speCulatius Regular Member

You recently started badminton. You have a powerful, but not extremely punishing racket. You're lacking power.

Get a coach.

It's not the racket, especially not if it's an AX77. Technique brings power. To properly learn technique, a coach is the best option. Get a coach. There'll be questions about your string tension coming. Ignore those and learn the basics properly.

3. TonyCAN

TonyCAN New Member

Thanks for your answer! It's also in my plan to get a coach too.
    Thanks for your reply. It's in my plan to get a coach but I'm sure I really need a bit more power. I tried other racquets from my friends and I was able to put more power and my shots was really better. I'm not sure AX77 is a powerful racquet?

4. SnowWhite

SnowWhite Regular Member