What are my mistakes and how can I improve?

Discussion in 'Techniques / Training' started by gnufoxch, Oct 15, 2011.

1. gnufoxch

gnufoxch Regular Member

I start playing badminton since april 2009. I know I still have much to learn.

I'm not very good at explaining things, so my brother have recorded my match on his cellphone. the quality isn't very good.( I'm the guy with the yellow shirt).

[video=youtube_share;pVo687dkNAM]http://youtu.be/pVo687dkNAM[/video]

[video=youtube_share;z8SAOFXKGY8]http://youtu.be/z8SAOFXKGY8[/video]

I would be very gratefull if you guys can Tell me what I've done wrong and how I can improve.

2. CanucksDynasty

CanucksDynasty Regular Member

Working to pay for badminton stuff
    Get a coach. It'll be money well spent.

3. sautom88

sautom88 Regular Member

Footwork

Your footwork can be improved. You often hit the shuttle too low or too late on yr clears. Your accuracy will improve if you have good footwork n hit 'early enough'. Also, learn attacking clears when yr footwork improves. Your high serves are not high enough, it should fall almost perpendicular to the ground, making it difficult to smash powerfully.

Do more footwork drills n practice good clears. Don't lift unless you have to. Try to 'push' n learn good netting. Good luck!

4. gnufoxch

gnufoxch Regular Member

@CanucksDynasty
    Getting a coach is probably the best for any player to improve his skills, sadly my budget won't allow me to get any coach. Also i'm not trying play professionally. I just wanna play more decent. When I'm richer then I will consider getting a coach, but for now I'm happy to get some quick advice from all the badmintonmasters here in BadmintonCentral.

@sautom88
    thx for taking the time to analyse my game. Your feedback is really helpful, from now on I will try to speed up my footwork(hopefully in the correct way, I'm not afraid to admit that my footwork sucks), train more on my high serves and train my attacking clears.