Very extreme situation!

Discussion in 'Chit-Chat' started by bill681231, Jan 2, 2008.

  1. bill681231

    bill681231 Regular Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2007
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    los angeles
    Just wondering, if a player smashed really hard and made a point, but, at the same time, his racket slipped out and hit the empire even harder and knocked him out, does this point count? Or it depends on whether the shuttle hit the floor first or the empire got hit first?:confused:
     
  2. Sgbad

    Sgbad Regular Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2007
    Messages:
    1,516
    Likes Received:
    1
    Occupation:
    bumming around
    Location:
    Singapore
    Of course the player who smashed get the point. But, is that ever possible? The empire couldnt be so stupid i guess.haha. He would have ducked.:D
     
  3. DivingBirdie

    DivingBirdie Regular Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2005
    Messages:
    972
    Likes Received:
    4
    Occupation:
    student
    Location:
    Singapore
    if he 'smashed really hard' (minimal slice) , and the shot landed in, it is near impossible for the racket to fly towards the umpire's head :D
    Anyways, the answer is that if the umpire regained consciousness the decision would be up to him...but well...IF he NEVER woke up.... ...:p
     
  4. Smautf

    Smautf Regular Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2006
    Messages:
    142
    Likes Received:
    83
    Location:
    London
    ...surely the empire would strike back...

    Smautf
     
  5. cappy75

    cappy75 Regular Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2002
    Messages:
    3,502
    Likes Received:
    26
    Occupation:
    Depot Support Representative
    Location:
    Burnaby, BC, Canada
    Not if the umpire is sitting in the high chair. It would have been difficult for him to duck, he might have to jump out of the chair. It's very likely that he won't have duck it since he's focuse on the shuttle. Of course, he could have blocked it with his free hand.

    I think the guy who hit the umpire should be penalize for playing with undue care if he's sweating so much that he lost his grip on the racquet or that he didn't replace his old grip before the games:p.

     
  6. MSHSBadmPlayer

    MSHSBadmPlayer Regular Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2005
    Messages:
    169
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Singapore
    the umpire would probably take revenge first then declare that the player who threw his racket got disqualified :D:D:D:D:D:D
     
  7. coops241180

    coops241180 Regular Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2002
    Messages:
    1,287
    Likes Received:
    1
    Occupation:
    Product Owner
    Location:
    Latchford, United Kingdom
    two points that i come up with for why this couldn't happen.
    1. like somebody already said - if the smash was going in the racket should follow it thereabouts so shouldn't really get anywhere near the umpire - it should be going down already... if he lets go before he contacts the shuttle he wouldn't win the point.
    2. usually when players smash, the harder they smash - the harder they grip because it improves the activation of the muscles in their forearms and wrist.

    however... i have an idea.. what if you smashed so hard that the racquet bent then snapped.. and th racquet head frisbeed and hit the umpire somehow?

    :D
     
  8. yy_ling

    yy_ling Regular Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2006
    Messages:
    774
    Likes Received:
    2
    Occupation:
    Student
    Location:
    Singapore
    that means his smash is out, since the racket flung at the umpire.
     
  9. mojopin

    mojopin Regular Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2007
    Messages:
    268
    Likes Received:
    0
    Occupation:
    Medical student
    Location:
    Ireland
    :D


    (The message you have entered is too short. Please lengthen your message to at least 15 characters.)
     
  10. westwood_13

    westwood_13 Regular Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2006
    Messages:
    651
    Likes Received:
    1
    Occupation:
    Student
    Location:
    Winnipeg, Canada

    who gets the point? Smautf does. And wins. Everything, for that.
     
  11. blueagle

    blueagle Regular Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2005
    Messages:
    130
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Philippines
    that's what you call "the umpire strikes back" :D
     
  12. chickenpoodle

    chickenpoodle Regular Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2004
    Messages:
    1,237
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    Alberta, Canada
    if the player's father were present at the match, he'd probably cover his face and cry out "luke! i am NOT your father.......!!!"
     
  13. extremenanopowe

    extremenanopowe Regular Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2005
    Messages:
    12,787
    Likes Received:
    118
    Occupation:
    Chief Coach. The best and still active.
    Location:
    www.extreme-power.org or xtremexn.blogspot.com
    it'll sure count. But when you loose a shot from then on, am sure he'll add another 2 points against you. His excuse is, you hit me accidentally; so my brain went doubled when you loose...hehehe..
     

Share This Page