Toes and feet mutilated from 'new' Yonex shoes (Need new Shoes)

Discussion in 'Clothing & Footwear' started by Schultzier, Sep 17, 2021.

1. Schultzier

Schultzier Regular Member

Hi guys!

This is my first post. I have been playing badminton casually for the past two years without any shoes. It was such a nice feeling - great care had to be given to feet placement to not get blisters but I did feel super comfortable with it. Obviously, I have now joined a club where I play once a week. This implied that i had to start playing with real badminton shoes to keep up with the 'pros'. I kid you not, it doesn't feel that natural for some reason (a lady beat me 3 times on my first day).

My problem is that I have naturally flatter feet that are quite wide. My Yonex Power cushion 36 have a kind of structure inside of them that when i transfer my weight onto my toes in the shoes, the nail impacted the roof protrushion and got beaten up blue. It is now red and my feet are more blistered that they have ever been from playing barefoot. EVER.

I kindly ask for advice on which new shoes to acquire. I am looking for some shoes that will give my feet and toes some freedom of motion, as I am currently not using my toes for any kind of weight transfer. The laces have possibly been too tight.

I have looked into the wider models and have heard good things about the brand New Balance. I am thinking about buying one of the wieder Mizunos which I have read good things about.

If you have any suggestions or have heard something from someone with similar problems, I would love to know.

(I cannot believe you people don't play this sport barefooted!!!:D)

2. puttguy

puttguy Regular Member

Victor labels their shoes V & U for the shape, so if you have wider feet go for the U shape models such as: A670CR/A670F, A362II AB/A362II BI/ A362FII AQ, these are wider still A555 BA/ A555 CH etc.

Sent from my SM-N9750 using Tapatalk

Schultzier likes this.
  3. SnowWhite

SnowWhite Regular Member