The coach gave a rocket to the player!?

Discussion in 'Rules / Tournament Regulation / Officiating' started by mobin2012, Nov 11, 2021.

  1. mobin2012

    mobin2012 Regular Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2012
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    7
    Occupation:
    Chemical Engineer
    Location:
    MARS!
    Hi guys,

    Something happened in a domestic tournament and I need your comments on that ...

    A player didn't have extra rackets. His string broke. At the middle of a rally his coach ( or someone associated to his team ) gave him a racket.!
    As far as I know, If a coach wants to give something to his player like a racket, ( except in intervals which is okay ... water, racket etc. ) should ask the referee to do so ... right?

    But in this case , the player and his coach didn't ask the referee to do this and coach gave him a rocket. As an umpire what would you do? would you call a let!?
    Would you let the game continue? Would you call the referee? or what would you do?

    Thanks
     
    Simeon likes this.
  2. jctai

    jctai Regular Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2011
    Messages:
    280
    Likes Received:
    119
    Location:
    Malaysia
    I would call the police if the coach gave an explosive weapon to his player. :p

    The point/rally still going? If it is then no one can interfere with the game. The coach cannot leave his seat or post (if there's no seat) during the rally. If it's after the point then there's no issue.
     
    oldtaby and mobin2012 like this.
  3. mobin2012

    mobin2012 Regular Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2012
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    7
    Occupation:
    Chemical Engineer
    Location:
    MARS!
    Yes...the rally is still going... What should I do as an umpire?
     
  4. mobin2012

    mobin2012 Regular Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2012
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    7
    Occupation:
    Chemical Engineer
    Location:
    MARS!
    C
    and I was told after the point ( not in intervals ) the only person who can put a racket,water, towel etc ... on the basket is the referee ...no one can interfere the game .... just max 2 registered people can get to the player in the intervals and give him/her ...
     
  5. Cheung

    Cheung Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2002
    Messages:
    22,978
    Likes Received:
    4,223
    Occupation:
    wannabe badminton phototaker
    Location:
    Outside the box
    That's a fault
     
    mobin2012 likes this.
  6. mobin2012

    mobin2012 Regular Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2012
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    7
    Occupation:
    Chemical Engineer
    Location:
    MARS!
    Thanks...would you just please give me a clue about according to which law(s) I have to call a fault?
     
  7. Cheung

    Cheung Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2002
    Messages:
    22,978
    Likes Received:
    4,223
    Occupation:
    wannabe badminton phototaker
    Location:
    Outside the box
    When you have two people on one side of the court in a singles match, how can it not be illegal?
     
    mobin2012 likes this.
  8. mobin2012

    mobin2012 Regular Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2012
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    7
    Occupation:
    Chemical Engineer
    Location:
    MARS!
    An well-experienced umpire told me we will call a let since He believes it's like the coach is coaching his player ... and at the same time she calls the referee on court ...
     
    #8 mobin2012, Nov 13, 2021
    Last edited: Nov 14, 2021
    Cheung likes this.

Share This Page