[Recommendation] Yonex Voltric 80 or Li Ning N90 II

Discussion in 'Racket Recommendation / Comparison' started by ioxyg3n520, Feb 2, 2012.

1. ioxyg3n520

ioxyg3n520 Regular Member

Hi. Well I'm not a super pro player but I just love to play badminton for fun and have already played for about two years. I would like to upgrade my racket since the one I'm using is very crappy and old. I like to play aggressively but also sometimes not so aggressively. Which racket would you recommend to me purchase if I'm not super advanced. And also, which do you guys prefer, 3U weight or 4U and why?

Thanks a lot!

2. ioxyg3n520

Oh and if you guys may also tell me. Which racket is lighter?

3. CarbonexFan

CarbonexFan Regular Member

Both are top line rackets, but I would recommend going for the VT80 because it's easier to cope with. The weight depends on what you are used to play with. The overall weight and feeling are different things. Most players have problem playing with the 3U VT80 and the 4U feels like a 3U racket. The N90-II is very stiff and designed for power players. Unless you are a very powerful player, there is really no need to use such an expensive racket.

4. ioxyg3n520

So since the VT80 is so heavy even at the 4U spec, shouldn't I go towards the N90 II instead since I'm used to super light rackets. And I like to smash a lot so I guess it could work for me?

Thanks!
    p.s. are you saying I'm better off getting a 4U IF i get a voltric?

5. CanucksDynasty

CanucksDynasty Regular Member

Working to pay for badminton stuff
    I have both rackets (VT80 and N90II). I'm not an advanced pro...just average/intermediate. Overall weight of the rackets are about the same (3U). The VT80 is more head heavy than N90II but the N90II is stiffer. I find that I get a better smash with the VT80 but more quickness with the N90II. Maybe a bit better netplay with the N90II.