Personnal progression asking for advices

Discussion in 'Techniques / Training' started by SimonCarter, Jan 3, 2019.

1. SimonCarter

SimonCarter Regular Member

Hello everyone,

I am Simon playing from France and I am quite new here. I have been playing for two years competitively and five years casually. I want to improve further and I have recorded myself extensively for personnal analysis but I feel like I could get great advices from you guys if you have the time to watch some footage.

Here are videos from this evening (I'm playing in black)

If you want even more videos you can go to the playlist that I will try to keep updated here :
    https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PLw0AqrMIyUDtJE_jdvaI31Vdye2NMyFeZ

Feel free to watch my play and tell me anything that I could work on (I'm sure there's a lot).

What I have been trying to work on recently iare
    - my stance (racket higher up when waiting for the oponent to shoot)
    - my split step (I feel like i'm losing too much time jumping too high)

Thanks for watching hope you enjoyed the ocasional nice points.

2. Cheung

Cheung Moderator

wannabe badminton phototaker
    Opponents are too weak

ucantseeme likes this.
  3. Kento

Kento Regular Member

I think you have good pronation and supination of your racquet arm which allows you to put plenty of 'whip' into your forehand and backhand strokes respectively.

You have a strong, well-directed wrist smash.

With this in your armoury, you do not really need to use many jump smashes against your partner and I would advise you to use these sparingly as you will be off-balance having playing such a smash and the loss in your momentum could be exploited should he be able to place it just over the net, leaving you struggling to reach it before the shuttlecock drops to the floor.

Your racquet arm appears to be quite stiff as you go into your smashes.