(Long) Intro...

Discussion in 'Introduction' started by cheongsa, Dec 3, 2003.

1. cheongsa

cheongsa Regular Member

Assistant Professor
    Greetings BF'ers,

I am cheongsa.

6th year PhD candidate, hoping to graduate by next year. Thesis dissertation on condensed matter physics theory. Specializing in computation of density matrices, if that means anything to anyone.

History:

I started playing badminton at age 10. My father marked out a badminton club on the lawn outside our house, and my brothers and I, along with some kids from the neighborhood, started knocking the shuttle around. My father taught us how to serve, but beyond that we had no formal training. We enjoyed the game anyhow, what with wind and sun and the uneven surface of the lawn.

I played this outdoor and informal version of badminton all through my primary school days. In my last year in primary school, I played my classmate, who was in the school team, by chance, and had a glimpse of what 'real' badminton is like. But unfortunately, I went to a secondary school with no indoor badminton courts and thus no school team or PE lessons in badminton. I still play outdoor badminton with my brothers once in a while, but for all practical purposes, you could say that I took a four year break from badminton.

After getting into junior college, I resumed playing badminton regularly again with the school's badminton club. I started getting serious about badminton, and learned how to do a proper clear and execute a proper backhand stroke from a fellow club member who had a friend in the school team.