Just another Racket Recommendation

Discussion in 'Racket Recommendation / Comparison' started by arsm, Oct 15, 2020.

1. arsm

arsm New Member

Hi there. Just asking for a racket recommendation. I read a few posts but really couldn't make my mind. Most suggestions are outside my budget...

So, I started playing almost 2 years ago with a friend and people from the office, all very casual. Now I'm only playing with my friend once a week, but I want to join some club since it's the only way to get more 1 or 2 times a week to play. So, I'd say I'm probably a beginner since never really focused on technique, it was really for fun...

I prefer singles but I'll probably end up playing both. I think my style of game is more attacking but don't have much power. I do struggle with clears particularly with plastic shuttles (I know it's all about technique but still want to replace my £10 racket). But I'll also play with feathers.

From what I read, I think a Head-Heavy, Flexible/medium and 4U (maybe 3U but my shoulder is not great). For strings, I was thinking something like bg65 at 22lbs.

I'm from UK, a woman (if this makes any difference) and my budget is around £50//£60. I was thinking of a Yonex Astrox 6 or 7, but not sure. Can't even decide between those and I'm open for other suggestions. I tend to look for Yonex but can always go for other brands.

Any help would be appreciated..

Thank You.

2. MoonJogger

MoonJogger Regular Member

Sometimes it's easier to give recommendations if we know about your old racket, and try to make comparisons from there.

It's true that a head heavy racket will give more power for clears and smashes IF you have the right techniques. But a head heavy racket will also slow your maneuvers. So it's a trade off.

I suggest that you look into even balance or head light rackets and flexible shaft that will give you a good balance of speed and power.