Is grunting, yelling and screaming during play considered not good for Badminton?

Discussion in 'Rules / Tournament Regulation / Officiating' started by chris-ccc, Jan 4, 2010.

1. chris-ccc

chris-ccc Regular Member

Professional Badminton Coach & Badminton Promoter
    Greetings,

Is grunting, yelling and screaming during play considered not good for Badminton?

Before you answer, have a read of;
    this link
    and
    also this link

Cheers... chris-ccc
    :):):)

2. Trmun

Trmun Regular Member

Copy pasted my answer from the other post to here as it seems to be more appropriate here - yet it covers mostly my views on yelling as I think grunting is fine whilst screaming and yelling is not.

I seriously don't get people who yell. I think the last guy I played who yelled was back when I just started playing competetivly in the lowest rank (D) here in Denmark. Since then I've moved up quite a bit, playing in the second best/best rank I haven't encountered anyone who yelled. Sure there have been some grunters but there is a huge difference between grunting and yelling. And most of the pros are actually grunting rather than yelling and they aren't doing so on EVERY smash.

But what I REALLY don't get about it is where you get the energy to play these mental games - there is enough to think about on the court without the "should I yell or not" thoughts as well. I would recommend you focus more on figuring out how to play your opponent and actually WIN the game straight up rather than trying to win it by annoying your opponent - at least I find this more satisfying, since I know that whoever I beat it is because I am actually better than them.

Fairplay is one of the cornerstones in this sport, and frankly, yelling for no reason (like when trying to do it deceptivly) isn't really fairplay. It might not be directly forbidden, but neither is being an arrogant prick and both results in people disliking you, and why make enemies on the court?

3. chris-ccc