Help choosing a racket!

Discussion in 'Racket Recommendation / Comparison' started by chesta, Dec 10, 2016.

1. chesta

chesta Regular Member

I'm an beginner - intermediate level player and by beginner - intermediate I mean, I understand basics and I'm pretty consistent with how I play. I also know proper court movement and how to place shots. Just a brief overview of my experience. I played when I was in Philippines when I was young for fun. When I got to Canada, I played my entire time in Highschool (Grade 9-12) playing badminton. My highest achievement was placing 4th in ROPSSAA qualifiers in Ontario. I have put down badminton since my highschool years and am recently picking it up because of some coworkers and friends wanting to play. We play at a pretty competitive level (by that I mean, we try our absolute best and don't pull any punches). We play 2-3 times a week for about 3 hours. I was and still am an aggressive player. If I see a kill opportunity, I go for it. If not, I play the clear game until I see a spot up front open up or they clear shallow.

For Grip, I'm not really sure. As long as it doesn't fly off and helps me hold the racket better, I don't really care.

I never really got too into rackets and strings back in highschool since I was one of those "budget" players since my parents restricted me from buying anything too serious and whatnot.

I'm in search of a racket that will help me do the following:
    1) Hits hard for smashes and clears
    2) good for doubles play (my friends and I usually play doubles and very rarely do we play singles)
    3) doesn't have a hard time with control. I like drop shots just as much as smashes and clears.
    4) I would like for the strings to have performance but kind of have durability. Maybe 6 months of survivability before needing replacement.