Hello from the Isle of Man

Discussion in 'Introduction' started by Manx, Apr 11, 2023.

1. Manx

Manx New Member

Hi All,
    I am 43 and new to the sport. My background is endurance running and MTB, however a month or so ago I played my first ever badminton game with a friend and now I am hooked. I am trying to learn as much as I can and improve. I am also fascinated with the history for the sport.
    Thank you for having me in your forum community.
    Cheers
    Manx

s_mair, sautom88, Cheung and 3 others like this.
  2. SnowWhite

SnowWhite Regular Member

Great to hear you have found the beauty in our sport.

Take care not to get injured, especially in the beginning when the body is still adapting to the new movements. As you will sometimes read on the forum: "You don't play badminton to get fit. You get fit to play badminton". Especially the shoulder, the knees, ankles and achilles can be vulnerable in the beginning, even more so with an imperfect technique.

I don't mean to downplay the risk of injury in other sports. Endurance runners must take care to avoid overuse injuries, and I can imagine the risk of taking a bad fall on the MTB, but badminton involves fast technical footwork with some 'unnatural' movements. If anything goes wrong, or something bends the wrong way, it could lead to damage from which players might never completely recover.

I don't want to scare you off:D. Badminton is a great sport, but make sure you can play it for decades to come. Take care, and listen to your body.

Manx likes this.
  3. Manx

Manx New Member

This seems like great advice SnowWhite, in all of my sporting endeavours, I have always been keen to get the right technique dialled in first and foremost, so I hope to do the same with badminton.

SnowWhite likes this.
  4. Cheung

Cheung Moderator

wannabe badminton phototaker
    Nice user name. Are you a native speaker?

5. sautom88

sautom88 Regular Member