Feather shuttlecock durability?

Discussion in 'Shuttlecock' started by TonyCAN, Dec 24, 2020.

1. TonyCAN

TonyCAN New Member

Hi everyone!

I'm new in the world of Badminton but I love it a lot!

I tested lots of different shuttlecocks and I'm in love with the feeling of a feather shuttlecock.
    I know the durability is less than plastic but can you tell me if it's normal to break one every 30 minutes?
    I use Yonex Aerosensa 40. Are the 50 so far better?

Thanks!
    Tony

2. SnowWhite

SnowWhite Regular Member

It's normal to break one every 10 minutes. Good ones can last a game. Very rarely does a shuttle last more than 2 games. In a bad game you can use 3 or more. Buying cheap is more expensive in the end, because they tend to break much faster. yonex aerosensa 30 is widely considered a good standard (and if price is anything to go by, aerosensa 40 should be better than the 30). I like victor gold champion, same price range, very comparable in quality, but I feel they last a bit longer.

If you're using your own, you can treat the shuttles with steam a few days before you play. Turn a water kettle on, open the lid, take the shuttle individually and rotate them over the steam until all sides have had a chance to catch some steam. Don't hold them over for too long(really, all it takes is a few seconds to fully rotate them over the steam). They shouldn't feel wet, just very slightly damp. Let them air dry for a few minutes and they can go back in the tube.

It hydrates the feathers and makes them less brittle. Just don't do it on the same day, because if they're still damp when you start playing they get fluffy and you might as well be playing with plastic.