Can I be an England Badminton player ???

Discussion in 'General Forum' started by Sports10, Mar 19, 2019.

1. Sports10

Sports10 Regular Member

I started playing sport at 10 for a casual club and i played more regularly from 14 and joined a more serious club i just tuned 16 and think my game is better then all people in my club and am looking to play county soon and take it frorm there
    So , the most important question is i guess....
    Do u think im too late and too old for being considered to play singles for National team - personally i dont think this but reassurance is always good

2. phihag

phihag Regular Member

While it's great to have a long-term goal to dream of, more immediate goals are more productive.
    1. To play in the National team, you have to be of a level to place top 4 in the national Championships.
    2. To qualify for the national championships, you have to win or place highly in the regional Championships (U19) / Gold level circuits (O19).
    3. To qualify for the regional championships / Gold level circuits, you have to win or place highly in the county championships / Silver level circuits.
    4. To qualify for the county championships / Silver level circuits, you have to win or place highly in the local championships / Bronze level circuits.
    That's just the tournaments. In practice, a player is very unlikely to reach a level without a certain number of hours of play and training. Therefore, your first goal should not be one of the above tournament results, but to enter a good training schedule. The trouble is that one has to show good results already to have a chance to enter the best training setups, especially at age 16.