In the match between Matsumoto/Takahashia vs Polii/Rahayu in the Badminton Asia Team Championship 2018 on 10 Feb 2018, the umpire called a service fault herself against the Indonesians--a foot fault. (The service judge was silent throughout.) The Indonesians appealled to the referee and complained that the umpire cannot call a service fault herself independently--only the service judge can. The referee agreed with the umpire. Are the umpire and referee right? Can the umpire call a service fault if the service judge say nothing? Postscript edit: 1. I read ITTO s 5.4.3, which says The Umpire shall, during the service, if a Service Judge is appointed, especially watch the receiver. The Umpire may also call a service fault. 2. But the Laws of Badminton s 17.3 says The service judge shall call service faults made by the server should they occur (Law 9.1.2 to 9.1.9). 3. A foot fault is, I believe, either 9.1.3 or 9.1.4. 4. Do Laws of Badminton take precedence over ITTO? 5. Can an umpire call a foot fault when such a fault was expressly reserved for the service judge to call by the Laws of Badminton?