This is NOT a qualm about whether a serve is legal or not. It is an awkward situation I have no answer to. I'm bold enough to suggest that at least half of you here have experienced the very same at some point. I remember one match last season where I was playing against someone who consistently served illegally (about which I have no doubt). The racket head clearly contacted the shuttle at and sometimes above WRIST level! I only noticed it about half way through the match, but this player was clearly breaking the rules. To bring it up at this point of the match would have been very awkward, and would seem pretentious in any case, considering the amateurish level of badminton being played and the code of "friendliness". I also accepted that the serve did not provide the opponent with any clear advantage (it was never played as a drive), but shrewdly realised that an alteration which would allow a legally rigorous serve may have given my team an advantage. We won the match. What should I have done? Aleik.