Beginner to Intermediate Racket Recommendation

Discussion in 'Racket Recommendation / Comparison' started by theskywinner, Apr 13, 2018.

?

Beginner to Intermediate Racket for Yonex Mavis 350 Shuttle

Poll closed Apr 20, 2018.
  1. Yonex Voltric 5

0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  2. Yonex Muscle Power 29

1 vote(s)
    16.7%
  3. Yonex Duora 77

5 vote(s)
    83.3%
  1. theskywinner

theskywinner New Member

Hello everyone,

This is my first post in the forum. I am a beginner to mid-intermediate doubles player. I usually play clear to the third baseline, when playing from rear court and play smash when playing from mid-court. I have been playing since around 4-5 months, normally all week days.

I am playing with Artengo BR750, which is stringed with yonex BG65Ti and a custom yonex grip (removed artengo grip). It weighs around 102 grams. I think this racket is too heavy for me, because I've started getting pain in my shoulder. I want to move to a lighter racket for beginner to intermediate player that doesn't break the bank.

Based on my research, following are the probable choices according to my playing style and level:
    1. Yonex Voltric 5 FX
    2. Yonex Muscle Power 29
    3. Yonex Duora 77

Request you to please suggest based on your experience, which one of the above is the most appropriate racket for me. Also, if you have any alternative similar to above in mind, please feel free to suggest.

Thanks in advance.

2. Charlie-SWUK

Charlie-SWUK Regular Member

N90 sycophant
    The... third baseline?

Skip the Muscle Power, that line is ancient.

The Duora 77 is pretty popular here, not a bad racket.

As for the Voltric 5FX, there was a huge amount of praise for the Voltric 7 on these forums. If it's a possibility take a look out for that. Or, you could be adventurous; the Astrox 6 and Astrox 7 are pretty new, and should meet your criteria. I've not used them; I use the Astrox 77. I think the frame design is pretty good though.

3. theskywinner

theskywinner New Member