Base Vs Flagship model

Discussion in 'Badminton Rackets / Equipment' started by dnewguy, Jan 26, 2023.

1. dnewguy

dnewguy Regular Member

Hello friends,

I have been playing (non competitive) badminton for about 6-7 yrs now, mostly MD.
    Went through a lot of different racquets as a beginner & even now I have about 7-8 racquets with different specs.
    None of them are 'Expensive'. All are less than $50.. infact my favourite one is nanoray 18i which is a 5u, headlight and I got it for less than $25.
    Now that I can comfortably spend on a high end racquet.. i would like to know the difference it will bring to my game.
    In other words, i wonder what performance upgrade should i expect from a similar 5u, headlight nanoray racquet that costs say more than $100 (if it exists).
    Because otherwise I consider myself really lucky to get really good games out of a cheap racquet and should simply invest in getting a few more of them.

Thanks.

2. Mikkel Press-Stevn

Mikkel Press-Stevn Regular Member

You shouln't expect any real difference, and you might even experience a regression in your play if you move to, lets say NF800 as an example.
    Currently you are familiar with the pros and cons of your current racket, and you have worked in a lot of muscle memory with that racket. A top end racket might have very different specs and playstyle then what you are used to. Which in the short term could hinder your game.
    In the slightly longer term, it might have no effect at all or it might have a minimal impact as a high end racket tends to be a lot stiffer and therefore requires you to generate a lot more of the power by yourself. This might not be a problem at all for your, or it might be a huge problem for you.

But all that aside I would spend more time looking into which strings you put into the racket, as it is my personal experience that different strings change more of the experience of playing then what racket you play with (to some extent of course).