Another coin toss? Why?

Discussion in 'Rules / Tournament Regulation / Officiating' started by juneau-AK, Feb 6, 2018.

  1. juneau-AK

    juneau-AK Regular Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2016
    Messages:
    67
    Likes Received:
    12
    Location:
    Juneau
    This is latest in tossing the coin more than one time - a ceremony that took more than 40"



    I read the law book and there is "a coin toss shall be conducted ..."


    Now compare that tossing ceremony with this - a coin was tossed, however the process was not complete (it was not caught), another coin was tossed. No fuss, no scenes, all done and dusted in about 16":



    An excellent demonstration of teamwork and preparedness. Good practice model in setting the tone right at the outset.
     
    phihag likes this.
  2. phihag

    phihag Regular Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2014
    Messages:
    1,003
    Likes Received:
    719
    Location:
    Germany
    Great videos! And kudos to the service judge for the prompt collection.

    It is, however, not fair to compare the times in doubles and singles. In doubles, you have to ask two more questions, and confirm the answer.

    I note that in the first video, the umpire asks the receiving side first who is to receive. I was taught to always ask the serving side first. Is there an official protocol for that? I can find no mention of it in either ITTO or the umpire training manual.
     

Share This Page