another chinese canadian high school badminton addict

Discussion in 'Introduction' started by TonyWdq, Mar 31, 2007.

1. TonyWdq

TonyWdq Regular Member

Software
    hello everyone

I've been member on BC for awhile but just recently paid attention to this introduction thing. Also, because I have a little story to share I've decided to post something here.

I moved to Canada in Jan. 2001 from China. Right now i'm in the last few months of High School. I started playing badminton in grade 9, first made the school team in the same year. I was truly addicted and played every day. The school coach didn't pay attention to me until grade 10 and offered me 1 on 1 training, I thought i finally got the chance to become good in a sport i truly like. Unfortunately my family moved to another city before Grade 10 badminton started. I ended up playing for a smaller school with little or no coaching. I was their key player, i was happy there but my skill didn't go up at all. The situation remained same for both grade 10 and 11.

The biggest change in my view on badminton happened just recently (~3 months ago) when i joined badminton central. I realized how much a difference there is between my tiny little school's badminton level and the outside world, so I decided to learn on my own from the resources available here. I lost count of how many posts i've read regarding fundamental skill building and further improvements. I also filled my harddrive full of professional badminton matches as I began to understand matches and able to enjoy them more. During practice sessions I would try to get coachs and other plays to help me improve with the lessons I learn here. Though, its highly unprofessional, without a proper coach, it was really all i could do.