Use of two types of strings on your rackets?

Discussion in 'Badminton String' started by Patriot, Jun 7, 2008.

1. Patriot

Patriot Regular Member

Law Student
    Hellow fellow BC-members,

I had the following question:
    I'm am a singles player in my heart, and that's what I'm best at.
    BUT (there is always a "but" to spicen thins up:p)
    In competition I always have to play two doubles matches before my singles match.

Problem: I'm not good at doubles.

Reason(s): I play fysical, I have no hard/good smash/I own a NS5K which is NOT a doubles racket
    So: I bought an AT-800DF, hoping to spicen up my smashes etc...
    I read alot about some "powerstrings" here at BC and saw that the BG-80 is a powerful string, so I want to string my AT-800 with it.

PROBLEM/QUESTION: I strung my NS5K with BG-65 at 21 lbs. wouldn't it be to hard of a problem if I strung my AT-800 with a different string at a different tension e.g. BG-80 24 lbs?!

would you guys recommend doing that? or rather recommend stringing it BG-65 as well?

Cheers!

Pat!

P.S.: I also try trainin doubles alot (so I don't only rely on a string/racket)
    P.P.S: If such a question is asked before, and I wasn't able to find it through the search function, could you please provide me the link and close the thread?

2. Moggy

Moggy Regular Member

lol when i saw the title i thought it meant like using BG80 for cross and BG66 for mains or something, has anyone ever tried that? Its done in tennis quite often to use two types of strings, my own racquet is strung that way.

Anyway for your question i don't think having different strings matter, infact i have 3 new racquets coming all strung with different types of strings. When i tried the NS5k i found it very poor on everything, it felt head heavy yet couldn't get much power. AT800DE is much better than the NS5k, i think you should just phase it out or sell it off to someone that likes it :D

3. Patriot

Patriot Regular Member

Law Student