K-W OKTOBerfest TOURNAMENT

Discussion in 'Canada East' started by hunkajunk69, Oct 8, 2007.

1. hunkajunk69

hunkajunk69 Regular Member

Im new to tournaments, how does the above tourney work? It mentions I have to have some club card. I play at George Brown am I eligible?

Also it mentions A-D flights. Do you choose which one you want or is it based on how you do in your first few matches?

Basically Im looking for a noobie tournament guide. Also a backhand dropshot but we will discuss that later.

2. staples

staples Regular Member

For ABCD flights, the level you end up in depends on your first few matches. This should be a stronger tournament but it shouldn't stop you from joining. :)

Your club may be a member of the Ontario Badminton Association but you have to be a member yourself as well. Just visit their site for more info.
    http://www.ontariobadminton.on.ca/

3. hunkajunk69

Thanks.

What would you define as a "stronger tournament". Will there be Ontario A players there?? Im probably a mid C player at best and would be more than a little hesitant to play an A player.

Still the idea sounds like fun.

4. staples

staples Regular Member

I'm sure you'll enjoy the tournament. If you face an A player you'll just drop down a flight or two. Who knows maybe you can cause an upset! haha
    Give it a go!

5. wukenne

wukenne Regular Member

Here's how it works. Everyone starts at A flight. If you win your first match, you move onto 2nd round. If you lose your first match, you'll automatically drop down to C flight.

If you win your first match, then win again, you'll stay in A flight for the reminder of the tournament. If you lose after this point, you're out.

If you win your first match, then lose your 2nd match, you'll drop down to B flight. Any more loses after this point and you're out.

If you lost your first match, and win your 2nd match, you'll stay in C flight. Any more loses after this point results in going home.