Breathing technique

Discussion in 'Techniques / Training' started by chibe_K, Aug 12, 2004.

1. sessyargc

sessyargc Regular Member

software engineer
    I've been playing pool (pocket billiards) for about 7 years prior to taking up badminton. In pool I do control my breathing when I'm at the table shooting. When I'm sitting I take deep inhalation and exhalation breaths (slow purposeful breathes), calms the nerves and makes you think clearly.

Transferring what I've learned on the pool table to the badminton court was not really seamless. Pool is more finesse, and I tend to follow my pool breathing pattern when I play net shots (finesse shots). This goes all out the window when I do power shots (smash, clears)! I'm still working on this. I also do the deep inhalation/exhalation when there is a lull in the play (specially prior to the service).

2. GiGaChip

GiGaChip Regular Member

Well what they probably mean by "abs" is ur diaphragm. Try this: Try to breath without moving your shoulders...you should be breathing using your diaphragm