(Video) help with technique and unforced erros

Discussion in 'Techniques / Training' started by Oliver Trimmer, Oct 11, 2023.

1. Oliver Trimmer

Oliver Trimmer New Member

Hey, im a junior county player who wants to focus on singles, im just trying to see if anyone can help me with any incorrect technique i have and offer me tips to improve.

I generally play with quite a high tempo but because of this i make a lot of unforced errors, if anyone could help me with either strategies to cut down on errors or how to lower my tempo it would be much appreciated

I've got 3 videos of me playing singles with someone else from my county sessions

This is my first time posting on badmintoncentral, if ive done anything wrong can someone let me know and ill fix it :)

dnewguy and Cheung like this.
  2. BadmintonDave

BadmintonDave Regular Member

Tempo is a fun discussion. Everyone has their own preferred tempo and style of play. You play with a high tempo, but what happens when your opponent changes the tempo of the game and forces you to play slower, more calculated, and more accurately?

I watched all the footage and there indeed were a lot of errors. Some serving into the net, shots going out. How can you minimise those mistakes? I would say try aiming a bit more into the court. Aim say 2-5CM inside of the line.

Perhaps if you get your racquet in position quicker when travelling backwards for overhead shots it will improve your accuracy and shot selection / deception. See what happens at 3:35 in the first video.

Have you played half court singles before? It could be a fun exercise to help you with accuracy and a bit of defence.

Consider posting the same thread to r/badminton. You'll get more eyes on you and even more suggestions.

3. Oliver Trimmer