Need some recommendations - S/D/MD

Discussion in 'Racket Recommendation / Comparison' started by Herrmann, Nov 1, 2023.

1. Herrmann

Herrmann Regular Member

Hey guys,

I have about 4 years of experience in total. I'm in my 30s now and started to play again after a 10 year break. Playing singles/doubles/mixed in competition. I play 2-3 times a week. No budget restrictions.
    In singles, I would describe myself as an all-round player with my strength being tight netshots and hold and flick at the net. In doubles and mixed, I would like to become more of a threat from the backcourt.

To give you an idea of my preferences, here are the rackets I have tried/played with so far:
    1. Yonex Voltric 80 3U - Played it back in my 20s and really liked it for singles. Now it feels awfully sluggish and slow in doubles.
    2. Victor MX60 4U - My favorite racket so far. Good power and decent control and speed, very easy to use. Unfortunately it broke.
    3. Victor Bravesword 12 3U - Only played with it for 3-4 months. Not sure what is was, but I never liked it as much as I had hoped. Speed was exceptional but power was disappointing. Control was decent.
    4. Victor TK F-C 4U - Also not sure what is going on but my timing is off with this racket. I feel like it does not excel in any area for me. I have not figured out how to generate power with this.
    5. Yonex Arcsaber 11 Pro 4U - Tried a few times. Right from the start I noticed this is the best control I have ever had with a racket. Speed was decent but power was rather mediocre even when I hit it clean, which concerns me.
    Not sure what to do now. I may give TK FC another shot but I am not really confident that I will ever figure it out. Based on some research, here are a few rackets I would consider trying out:

• Yonex Astrox ZZ 100 4U (I heard it does not feel as stiff and HH like it is advertised)
    • Yonex Astrox 100 Game 4U
    • Victor TK 220H II 4U
    • Victor Ryuga TD
    • Li Ning Tectonic 7