Tips on how to improve my mindset and get the maximum out of training sessions?

Discussion in 'General Forum' started by AreYouEvenMad, May 26, 2022.

1. AreYouEvenMad

AreYouEvenMad Regular Member

This is probably gonna be a very long and very broad one, but maybe someone can relate to this.. (TW: mental health, self harm)

So I've been playing badminton for about 8 years. I'd definitely consider myself an advanced player, but I'm nowhere close to where I want to be. In fact, I'm one of the worst players in my club. Right now I play two times per week (4 hours total). I'd love to play and train more, but with university, my job etc. its just not possible. So therefore I need to get the maximum out of these two training sessions. I definitely know which things I need to do better and in which areas I need to improve. However I feel somewhat stuck and I think, a lot of this has to do with my mindset. I've been struggling with mental health for years (low self esteem, self harm etc.) and badminton is pretty much the only thing that really helps me forget those things at least for a few hours. Therefore the whole topic is super important to me, I'm extremely competitive and desperately want to improve, because badminton's really means a lot to me. So on the one hand, I'm really motivated and competetive which is actually a good thing I guess. On the other hand, this probably leads me to taking things too seriously and focusing too much on winning instead of improving and doing things differently. When I have a bad match, I often get really frustrated and angry at myself, which obviously only makes me play even worse and I get into this negative downward spiral, sometimes up to a point where I really want to hurt myself because I feel like I'm the worst player in the world, a burden to my doubles partner and overall just a worthless piece of sh*t.