How to get parallel strings on the side of the racket ?

Discussion in 'Badminton Stringing Techniques & Tools' started by Soarin, Apr 7, 2022.

1. Soarin

Soarin New Member

Hi all,

I am looking for tips on how to get parallel strings on the sides of the racket.

Do you consciously do something for them to be parallel ?

From my last 3 stringjobs, following the Yonex stringing pattern, here are some examples of what I'd like to avoid. I must add that, as a beginner, I was not aware of this issue while stringing, therefore I was not actively trying to avoid it.

Sorry for the atrocities you are about to witness :(

The "problematic" side

Problematic side.png

On the left-hand side: same mistake on all three, I am not quite sure how it should really be and how to force them to be parallel.

On the right-hand side: the yellow one should be reversed, the orange one should be illegal.

The other side

Other side.png

I guess most of these mistakes could have been avoided if I was mindful of this issue while stringing.

Thanks in advance for your help :)

2. s_mair

s_mair Regular Member

First of all, don't get too hung up on this, especially since you are a beginner, there are much more important things to care for.

This. You just need to keep a close eye when you are threading the strings in these areas. Have a look where the strings come out over/under the other string in shared holes and on holes that are overlapped by others. You will get a feel for the whole topic once you build up more routine.

Personally, I have developed a serious OCD for looks on the outside of the racket. If having a really clean look with very little string running on the outside (which will automatically reduce the risk of bad crossovers) makes you happy, you might check out different (1-piece) patterns.

Just to get your mouth watering:
    [​IMG]

[​IMG]

*coughcough*
    https://www.badmintoncentral.com/fo...her-stringing-video-li-ning-n9ii-no-1.189398/