Is this normal?

Discussion in 'Techniques / Training' started by Martijn, Apr 27, 2020.

1. Martijn

Martijn New Member

So, quick intro. I've been playing for about 2 years, and recently decided to get a coach for the past 4 weeks doing 1 x 1h classes per week.
    During the training I do quite well, can manage 20 dropshots with the same shuttle. Movement is my biggest weakpoint, but even that is coming along quite ok.

However, when actually playing (always doubles), I'm finding it really hard to put that in practice. All my dropshots and nets miss. Smashes don't come through, or are really weak and easily blocked, netshots always come short, or I end holding the racket in the most awkward position when blocking a shot and end up missing the block. The split step and movement also doesn't happen organically or happen at all.

It usually ends up with me feeling a bit frustrated, which makes everything just spiral further down. I know I shouldn't get annoyed, but it's a bit hard not to, seeing as how well practice goes.

Is this just part of the initial learning curve, or am I doing something fundamentally wrong? I just want to get better, but too often it feels like I've barely learned anything. I get particularly demotivated when missing really easy shots.

I'll post a video of practice on Wednesday, and one of an actual game later during the week.

But yeah, appreciate any advice.

Sumanth99 likes this.
  2. Pagz

Pagz Regular Member

Completely normal. Don't be discouraged by it!
    During training you more or less know which shuttle is coming and you are under less pressure than in competition, so obviously your shots will be better.
    Once your general technique is solid, your coach should incorporate multi shuttle exercises into your training to emulate a competition setting.

Fidget likes this.
  3. Martijn

Martijn New Member

thanks for the advice.