pro's-pro Tomcat (with MT-400) stringing-machine

Discussion in 'Badminton Stringing Techniques & Tools' started by endFX, Jan 13, 2020.

1. endFX

endFX Regular Member

Badminton tryhard
    Last summer (2019) I took the leap of faith and bought the pro’s-pro Tomcat (with MT-400).

I’ve been using it now for about 6 months and wanted to share my experience with you, since there are no reviews about it yet.
    Take my words with a grain of salt because I never used another machine at this level or above before and therefore I can’t really make a comparison. I’d rather try to judge the machine on its own.
    However, I’m a professional craftsman, so I might know a thing or two about quality of tools and machines.

First off - A little more Background.

I started stringing in Summer 2018 with a cheap, used (and crappy) pro’s-pro Challenger I.
    It was good enough to get me started but required some modding/tweaking (and patience) to make it work.
    After about a year of stringing I got sick and tired of the bad quality of the machine and figured that if I want to continue stringing (which I did) I would need a decent machine, preferable an electronic one.
    Not only to make stringing more enjoyable but also to produce better jobs.
    I was exclusively stringing my own rackets at that time.
    I was thinking about stringing for friends and club-mates (with a better machine) but since my club already had a stringer I didn’t know if it would work out.
    So I was still unsure if a new machine was justified for me and didn't want to spend too much money.

After a lot of considerations between all kinds of machines I finally gave the PP´s Tomcat a shot because at the time it offered the best value for money.
    After my experience with the Challenger I never thought I would buy a machine from pro’s-pro again but since their new machine was clearly something else (different manufacture) I finally settled for it.

Order, Delivery, Setup