Stringing breaks in couple of shots

Discussion in 'Badminton Stringing Techniques & Tools' started by Vino, Mar 21, 2019.

1. Vino

Vino New Member

Hi,
    I am new to this forum.. I have been playing badminton for the past 5 years and last year I purchased a vintage stringing machine Alpha ultraedge-I and started stringing for a while.WIthout prior experience in stringing I got some tips from the nearest racket center on Tennis rackets.. they apply even tension on the mains and the cross strings.. and I was doing the same for couple of months and came to know that for badminton it has to be always 2 pounds lesser on the mains.
    So i was doin this way with 2knots method. since it was economic.I have strung more than 100 rackets so far but didnt get into more problems..
    In the recent days.. my racket and my collegues racket lasts long only for few hours since we both hit more smashes.. both the rackets string got broken on the mains approx 6th n 7th gourmets..
    Any advices is highly appreciable..

2. thyrif

thyrif Regular Member

Those grommets on the 'corners' often get worn or damaged, have you checked the condition of the grommets? Checking / replacing those regularly may help.

ucantseeme and s_mair like this.
  3. MikaelK

MikaelK Regular Member

IT Network engineer
    Hi Vino.

I assume the break is happening in top?
    Where do you tie your knot after the last cross?
    Maybe you have started to, without knowing, to pull a bit more while tightening the finishing knot, so you are actually tearing the main-string you are tying on...

If possible, please add a picture of the break on next occasion... Pictures tells more than 1000 words ;)

4. KWSKJP

KWSKJP Regular Member

It shud b the knot is both rackets snap at the same place especially if ur tie off is there and using a parnell knot by excessive pulling in a 180 degree semi circle to further tighten the 2nd loop as that can easily bruise off the multi filament coating.

5. Vino