Buying professional rackets as a "normal" player?

Discussion in 'Badminton Rackets / Equipment' started by AreYouEvenMad, Dec 5, 2016.

1. SolsticeOfLight

SolsticeOfLight Regular Member

And some things just aren't available on cheap rackets.

2. Cheung

Cheung Moderator

wannabe badminton phototaker
    If you have the money, splash the cash.

Junye likes this.
  3. R20190

R20190 Regular Member

Chartered Civil Engineer
    The thing is, if it makes you play better, whether its a placebo or not it is worth it.

It's a bit like kids dressing up as their favourite super hero, it makes their play more enjoyable.

4. xzavire

xzavire Regular Member

Engineer
    There's been a lot of good points here and I'd like to share some thoughts from my experience. I've been playing on and off for over a decade now both at university level and recreationally after I graduated. Because of my job I was able to travel to China and HK and play there in a few clubs there. I've noticed a few things

1. A good player can play well with anything. I've encountered some provincial level players in China and he can beat me using an antique wooden racket just as well as using a top-of-the-line Yonex racket. It's been long established that the skill is in the person and not acquired through some tool. This isn't a video game, you don't do more damage just because you got a bigger gun. I've seen high level players in Asia using off-brand, clones or no-name brands and performing very well. In fact, in Asia there are more users of "non-professional" rackets than professional rackets. This is probably due to a combination of availability, price, average earning and other factors. For some regions like North America it's difficult to even find decent clones for a cheap price. The selection is so limited you might as well shell out for the top stuff.