Would going to the gym improve my game?

Discussion in 'Techniques / Training' started by Ludwik, Nov 13, 2016.

1. Ludwik

Ludwik Regular Member

Hi guys. I am wondering if going to the gym would also improve my game? But I am not solely relying on going to the gym. I have been doing badminton training for about 3 years now and I want to improve my game more. Aside from doing badminton training for 6 hrs a week planning to add going to the gym in the side. or should i just focus solely in badminton training

Any advice or suggestions helps!

2. Cheung

Cheung Moderator

wannabe badminton phototaker
    Yes. It can help. However, you don't want to overdo things. Regard it as a supplement to training.

3. druss

druss Regular Member

Building strength while maintaining flexibility is difficult. You want to do strength training, not bulking up. One place it definitely helps is in the legs if you like to jumps smash. I found that rowing really works well, just balance that with chest and triceps exercises.

4. OhSearsTower

OhSearsTower Regular Member

- its a myth to get bulky just from moving some weights around here and there (maybe 1 in a 1000 people have that genetics? if at all)

- you need legs not only for jump smashes o_O ... leg strength is great for badminton movement overall, and guess what, you need to move on court ;)

so yes, strength training will help your badminton game and also is good for injuryprotection

its a lot of work though to really get results i think, at least in my experience

5. Charlie-SWUK

Charlie-SWUK Regular Member

N90 sycophant
    Just look at Chen long and his legs...

6. MSeeley

MSeeley Regular Member

Professional