how to win when your partner is too weak

Discussion in 'Techniques / Training' started by reytave, Feb 19, 2014.

1. mannygk

mannygk Regular Member

student
    I've had extensive experience as both the weaker player and the stronger player at serious polarities (it happens to all of us) and, I don't mean to sound offensive, but I have to say that a lot of these comments are coming off as very elitist and will actually not help at all in your situation. Your ambition is admirable and I'm sure that it's going to make you an amazing player but in your posts you speak a lot in terms of what you are doing individually (e.g. "I" have been developing my skills, "I" am the one putting in all the effort) and all of the things he is doing wrong, which means you must have an incredibly antagonistic relationship. This is the wrong mentality for doubles because, regardless of the large gap in skill and motivation that you may have, the moment you both step on that court you become a *team* and it doesn't matter whose fault it is; a win is a win and a loss is a loss.