Lin Dan ( 林丹 )

Discussion in 'China Professional Players' started by seawell, Oct 29, 2004.

1. Giga01

Giga01 Regular Member

How can the XD 3v3 match possible have been a good idea and a good promotion of the sport? I don't know how I would react if I was a professional player but...I dunno. Some might feel insulted, I guess it really depends on your attitude, how seriously you take it, because...I don't feel it's that easy to have a professional win or lose match 3v3 and either not being able to take it seriously or be very frustrated. Won't the court feel a bit too small for those players? I don't doubt they will come up with some good and crazy tactics but still.

And CBSL and CBA has to understand the game of badminton more than I do, so it feels like some of the new ideas maybe shouldn't have left the table at all.

2. Justin L

Justin L Regular Member

Furthermore,renbo, are you implying that these foreign players, LCW and Intanon just to name two, are in cahoots with CBSL to put on a fake show ?

3. Justin L

Justin L Regular Member

Personally, I tend to agree with Lin Dan that the 11-point scoring system may not be a good idea though, surprisingly, it has been doing fine for international table tennis which, however, it's best of seven sets for individual events and best of five for team events.

Imagine, by the time you warmed up, the set is over or when you make a number of easy mistakes and it's too late for you to catch up.I guess the organizer just want to try it out to see if it works and partly to accommodate CBA's concern about their national players' risks of injury. Only by experimentation can we actually evaluate its merits and demerits.

As I've brought it up before, Li Yongbo in the past was critical of his national players taking part in the domestic league but later relented to allow the players earn extra income and do their part to promote badminton. Perhaps the 11-point scoring system this time is a compromise between CBSL and CBA.