Replacement for AT800 DE

Discussion in 'Racket Recommendation / Comparison' started by jeanmid, May 31, 2013.

1. jeanmid

jeanmid New Member

Hello everyone, I have been using the AT800 DE for several years but it's broken now so I'd like to know which of the newer models is closest to that same feel when playing, especially returning smashes and driving. I play mostly doubles and like to play defensive usually. Some models I was considering: AT900 Tech VT series ARC 10 / 11 Based on the Yonex racket chart the closest of these would be the ARC models, but I'd like to get feedback from people who've actually played with and liked the AT800 DE before. I thought the AT900 Tech was its replacement, but it seems it's a head-heavy racket? I've never played with a really head-heavy racket like the VT series but someone said they're also quick on defense? Thank you in advance for the suggestions / advice. Jean

2. -Berg

-Berg Regular Member

Voltric 60 (Flexible Stiffness) /70 (Medium Stiffness) maybe? Especially considering performance to return powersmashes back to the backline with ease and drive battle that require lightning fast maneuverability

3. nutbad5981

nutbad5981 Regular Member

elementary grade tutor
    Hi. I used a 4U YY AT800DE for about 4 years before I switched to 3U AT900T (2 years, it broke) then Voltric 80. I like more the AT900T than the AT800DE, AT900T and AT800T are close in terms of specs, though AT900T feels more solid in defense, quickness and power (maybe due to weight variation). AT900T vs VT80, i noticed that VT80 is slower due to its longer shaft/shorter handle compared to AT900T shorter shaft longer handle, and VT80 has stiffer shaft than at900t, so you need to adjust more if you choose vt80 than AT900T. I'm not sure if all YY VT's have long shafts and short handles.