Grommet materials & design: how important?

Discussion in 'Badminton Rackets / Equipment' started by cobalt, Oct 11, 2011.

1. cobalt

cobalt Moderator

Yes
    I've been thinking about this subject for almost a month, now. **insert scratching of head, here** I have read (and heard) a lot about how the materials and design of the frame and shaft can affect the way a racquet plays, and how it gives feedback to the player. I kept thinking that these characteristics should be affect by every part of the racquet, especially the parts that hold the string or come in contact with the string.

I don't think there have been any major changes in either the technology (materials?) or design of grommets ever since they came into being. With the availability of new composites and space-age materials, I wonder if there is a case for reviewing the grommets currently in use by all major manufacturers?

I'm not a techie :eek: so you guys will have to excuse my "non-technical" chatter. Won't grommets be responsible at elast in part for a "damping" effect on the strings? If a "better" grommet (by design and material) were to be used, which would absorb less of the energy transferred from the player to the strings, would that not be desirable? Also, such a "better" grommet would provide more tactile feedback as well.

Your thoughts?

2. S.fusion

S.fusion Regular Member

Will a new design in car wheel nut makes the car go quicker?

3. cobalt

cobalt Moderator

Yes
    I think a more correct analogy may be:
    "will the design of the shock absorbers of a car, make the car ride corners better, make the car safer, make for smoother handling on rough roads?"
    :D

4. S.fusion

S.fusion Regular Member