How many Badminton racquets do players usually have?

Discussion in 'Badminton Rackets / Equipment' started by dayung85, Nov 7, 2009.

1. dayung85

dayung85 New Member

Hi Guys,

I'm new to the sport and just wanted to know how many racquets I should buy once I find the model I like.

I'm a tennis player and I have three of the same racquet. Is this the same for badminton? Thanks all!

2. Kiradi

Kiradi Regular Member

Other players please correct me if i'm wrong but generally if you're intending to play tournaments I would recommend 3-4? and if you're just playing leisurely two should do just fine

3. Destricto_Ense

Destricto_Ense Regular Member

Student
    It really depends on what level you're playing at. The pros generally bring 3 of the same racquet to each of their matches, but they have an unlimited supply. At the opposite end of the skill level axis, I have 2 racquets but they're not the same - I just kept my old racquet when I bought a new one. I think if you're just starting out one racquet is fine, but maybe two if you're playing competitively.

4. druss

druss Regular Member

It will also depend a bit on the tension in the strings. competitive players play with very high tensions which increase the risk of breaking strings in a tournament. if you don't have someone stringing at the tournament then make sure you have enough rackets so you don't end up with nothing to play with.

When I played in college I typically had 4-6 rackets with me.

5. thejym

thejym Regular Member

I think many amateur players can rack up quite a few rackets, but they will all be different rackets. This process probably happens as they switch from one racket, to another, to yet another. I started out in this way, but now I am trying to settle down on a specific racket and getting multiple copies of the same racket (it no longer makes sense to even bother bringing other rackets that I won't use).