Make Drops closer to the net.

Discussion in 'Techniques / Training' started by CkcJsm, Oct 12, 2009.

1. CkcJsm

CkcJsm Regular Member

I can't seem to make my overhead drops closer to the net. My drops are pretty far, just a bit before service line. I try to press my wrist harder but it goes it the net and I try other things and it does not work. :crying: Thanks. Any ideas? : )

2. jchan04

jchan04 Regular Member

it depends on the distance and height that you contact the shuttle at and most preferably.... you should try slicing the shuttle. there's lots of topics about slicing... search!!! sorry im not very good at details...

3. Xushi

Xushi Regular Member

being a teen haha.
    Think about it this way, a sharp net shot generally has to have a curved trajectory to be able to land very close to the net.
    also, you need to consider where above your head you are hitting the drop shot.
    some people let the shuttle drop until about their head height which tends to make it much harder to land sharper drop shots. (and is also bad)
    Try hitting it at a higher contact point, so to find this point - hold your badminton racket directly above your head and stretch your arm out just above you.
    finally, the only other possible thing i can think about it try out another racket that has more control > power, which therefore should make it easier.

4. Gollum

Gollum Regular Member

You can make your drops land closer to the net by hitting them more softly, and changing the racket angle on contact so that it doesn't point down as much. Very slow, loopy drops can be achieved by hitting the shuttle initially in an upwards direction; these will land close to the net.

But are you sure this is a good idea? Most of the time, it's better to play a fast drop, where the shuttle lands near the service line. For details, see my page about fast vs. slow drops (this is for singles, but it's true in doubles too).

5. TedTheFarmer

TedTheFarmer Regular Member