Kudos to Panasonic

Discussion in 'Badminton Photography' started by taneepak, May 26, 2009.

1. weeyeh

weeyeh Regular Member

Try Alex Majoli as an example.

Pro's are pros because they pick the camera that is most suitable for the job. It's not unlike pro-badminton players who picks the best racket for the job -- why LD stuck to the AT700 despite all the nano advances.

I know a few professional photographers who switched to the E-P1 due to the size but they also kept their bigger formats for other purposes. As an amateur, I personally steered clear of DSLR because I will not carry them around. Instead, I treated myself to an E-P1 the day it was launched. It has taken over my f100fd as my carry-around.

I doubt this concept will take over the DSLR but it's an important progress nevertheless. Sometimes, the best camera is the one that you have with you (mobile phone).

2. yellowduck

yellowduck Regular Member

finance
    im using the panasonic gh1, its pretty good camera. except theres no fast zoom lens. so for a badminton game its not ideal. i left some shots on the macau2009 forum for pictures. most were taken stretching iso1250 with shutter speed around 100. i think u'd see some fast zoom lens maybe next yr either from panasonic, olympus or ppl like sigma or tamron..

3. taneepak

taneepak Regular Member

Designing and producing quality feather shuttlecoc
    Olympus makes some very fast zoom lenses for Four Thirds cameras, i.e 35mm to 100mm f/2.0. There are also very fast f/1.4 lenses of 30mm and 60mm fixed focal length. They are also perhaps the smallest interchangeable fast lenses you can find in the market.

4. Cheung

Cheung Moderator

wannabe badminton phototaker
    Sounds interesting. Do you mind giving us some 'user' experiences?

5. taneepak

taneepak Regular Member

Some very fast and exremely high quality lenses for Four Thirds :
    1st Tier (Extremely High Grade)
    1. 300mm F2.8 Olympus
    2. 150mm F2.0 Olympus