need a yonex recommendation

Discussion in 'Racket Recommendation / Comparison' started by linty, May 19, 2009.

1. linty

linty Regular Member

Hello, I'm a beginner badminton player, I'm more of a defensive player, my smashes tend to go up and high (a technique issue i'm working on), but I need a racquet, as right now I'm borrowing one. I know I want one that is very light as my wrist gets hurt and I'm choking up on the racquet a lot, maybe in the 4u territory? Does anybody know one I can get in Canada? I'm willing to go up to around 100 dollars. Help? THank you kindly.

On a side note, I went to my local sport mart to try a few out, the carbonex 8600 ti seemed ok, though a bit heavy to swing... if this helps.

2. DonnyGan

DonnyGan Regular Member

Logistics
    are you strictly only open to Yonex?

3. Gemcat

Gemcat Regular Member

Airport Employee
    For light racquets, not only Yonex has them. Have you tried Wilson and Babolat? I heard they are pretty light too.

4. linty

linty Regular Member

Well, I guess not, Yonex to me is just a "sexy" brand, if you can recommend something for me in another brand, well I'm game. What were you thinking?

5. atingd

atingd Regular Member

Yonex AT900P, string it at 27lbs w/BG-66.
    Some people say it's head heavy, but personally I find it pretty light myself. If 3U is too heavy for you, go for 4U!

6. laivc

laivc Regular Member

Sales
    If you insist on Yonex, you can look into their Nanospeed series. Nanospeed rackets are noted to be lighter on the head-side, which is good for players who are not so strong on the wrist. When your wrist grows stronger, the Nanospeed racket will "grow" with your wrist strength as you can swing faster to generate faster racket speed, and thus' power.

7. phamd124

phamd124 Regular Member

Student