Muscles, badminton and the gym

Discussion in 'Techniques / Training' started by Ballschubser, Sep 5, 2019.

1. Ballschubser

Ballschubser Regular Member

I've some experiences in the gym for at least 8 years and I've done personal research in fitness and sport for quite some time.

There's often the question what muscle one should train to get better in badminton, e.g. should I train the bicept to get a stronger smash ? The standard answer is , that it is more about technique than about muscle size, but why ?

I will try to give an short overview about muscles and what would be a good idea to train in relation to badminton.

Skeletal muscle structure

Skeletal muscle consists of different fibers which have different tasks. There are fibers which can twitch really fast, really strong, or which can contract for a really long time. Each muscle is a mix of these fibers. E.g. muscles which need to stabilize your spine will consists of more enduring fibers, muscles which need to move fast but are not "active" all the time, will have more fast twitching fibers.

Movement, power and muscle size

There are more than 400 muscles which are responsible to move your skeleton. Each muscle consists of multiple fibers of different fiber type. These muscles are controlled by the central nervous system (CNS). When you execute a movement, that is one or more bones are moved connected by a joint, then the CNS need to coordinate and control the movement of many muscles and many more fibers. Even a bicept curl, which should isolate the bicept, will involve a lot of other muscles.

So, do you need bigger muscles to get more powerful ?

Not really, at least not at the beginning.